Cal Football Blog

Cal Football News and Updates

Defensive Staff Shake Up, and 2014 Schedule Released

Leave a comment


From Berkeley,

Cal head football coach Sonny Dykes announced a restructuring of the Golden Bears’ defensive coaching staff on Wednesday. Defensive coordinator Andy Buh has been reassigned as a position coach, while defensive tackles coach Barry Sacks and defensive backs coach Randy Stewart will not return in 2014.

“Defense is a critical part of the equation in winning championships,” Dykes said. “I owe it to our student-athletes to provide them with the best conditions for success, both on and off the field, and I am committed to hiring coaches who will develop our players to their fullest potential while being excellent teachers in all aspects of the game. I will look to hire a defensive coordinator with significant experience in that role who can lead our defensive unit to success in one of the most prolific offensive conferences in the country.”

 

 

New Schedule:

Sat., Apr. 26 Cal Football Spring Game (P12N) Berkeley, CA (Kabam Field at Memorial Stadium) 11 a.m. PT

Sat., Aug. 30 at Northwestern Evanston, IL (Ryan Field) TBA

Sat., Sept. 6 Sacramento State Berkeley, CA (Kabam Field at Memorial Stadium) TBA

Sat., Sept. 20 *at Arizona Tucson, AZ (Arizona Stadium) TBA

Sat., Sept. 27 *Colorado Berkeley, CA (Kabam Field at Memorial Stadium) TBA

Sat., Oct. 4 *at Washington State Pullman, WA (Martin Stadium) TBA

Sat., Oct. 11 *#Washington Berkeley, CA (Kabam Field at Memorial Stadium) TBA

Sat., Oct. 18 *UCLA Berkeley, CA (Kabam Field at Memorial Stadium) TBA

Fri., Oct. 24 *Oregon Santa Clara, CA (Levi’s® Stadium) TBA

Sat., Nov. 1 *at Oregon State Corvallis, OR (Reser Stadium) TBA

Thu., Nov. 13 *at USC Los Angeles, CA (Los Angeles Memorial Coliseum) TBA

Sat., Nov. 22 *Stanford Berkeley, CA (Kabam Field at Memorial Stadium) TBA

Sat., Nov. 29 *BYU Berkeley, CA (Kabam Field at Memorial Stadium) TBA

 

Comments about schedule:

This is the first time in a long time that we start the season away from home. Maybe that’s a good thing, since we’ve lost the past couple openers at home. Only 6 home games in 2014 because 1 of the games will be played at Levi Stadium against Oregon. I don’t like that our last game is against BYU instead of the Big Game, but I do like that we have a bye week before the Big Game. We haven’t had two bye weeks in the middle of our schedule for the past few years (the same years that we didn’t make bowl games), so hopefully these bye weeks will allow our athletes to recover better than the last two seasons.

 

Author: ShawnXT

I am a big time sports fan. I love my LA Lakers (don't hate) and my CAL Golden Bears (duh). I pretty much watch any sport, so when the Olympics are on don't bother me. I love finding great food. The website I work for and also use ALL THE TIME for food is www.TryCaviar.com. I'm always looking to find great food and something unique. I watch way too many shows and movies and still looking for more, so if you got any great shows or movies to recommend, please tell me!

Leave a comment